Creed’s Baptism

  On June 22, Creed was baptized at our church, Westminster Presbyterian Church.   One of my favorite things as a pastor’s wife is getting to witness my husband baptizing our children.  It makes a truly joyful time even more so.   I really can’t describe in words the emotions and thoughts that accompany a baptism, but there is one thing that stood out to me this time.  We are in a new sanctuary and the baptism took place on a stage.  I tend to not look out on the congregation much as it is a reminder that people are looking at me(ACK!), but when the congregation raised their hands vowing to aid us in raising Creed in a Godly manner and teaching him the ways of the Lord, I looked out and was humbled at the sight of everyone raising their hands.  It was very touching. 

    I asked Jon if he would write out for me what he says before he baptizes our children so it would be much more accurate than my trying to relate what he says myself:

Our hope for Creed is the same hope we have for all our children and all the covenant children of this church; that they will not be children of unbelief but children of belief.  Our hope for this is not based on some magical properties of this water.  Our hope is in the grace of God displayed in the person and work of His Son, Jesus Christ, and applied to us by the Holy Spirit.  And so looking not to anything in Creed but to the faithfulness of our God, whose promises are Yes! and Amen! in Christ, I baptize you, Simeon Creed Anderson, child of the covenant in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.  Amen. 

And the same for the prayer he prayed for him:

Heavenly Father, we praise you that you are a God who lavishes blessing upon blessing upon your people.  We acknowledge that You are the giver of all good gifts and so this child is a gift from you.  We pray that he would grow strong in faith, that even now you would be at work in his life to make him Your man.  That he would be a man with simplicity of purpose, to glorify You in all that he does.  I pray that You will make him into a godly man who will be a godly husband and a godly father.  I pray even now that You will be raising up for him a godly wife to labor alongside him.  I pray he will be a man who delights in Your word.  And I pray that by his life, when people hear his name, they will think not of him but of His God.  This I pray in Jesus’ name, Amen.

The following are pictures that were taken:

Wade explaining infant baptism and doing the vows.

The actual baptism.

Jon praying for Creed.

THe kids with my parents.

All of us.

 

A little wet. 😉

I made the gown when I was expecting Emma.

Since we had Jack, we have had the tradition of holding a baptismal feast  the night before the baptism.  The Thomassons were gracious enough to let us host it at their house and it was lovely as usual.  We so appreciated those who were able to come and celebrate with us and the fellowship of our fellow believers.  Here is a picture of Creed “hanging out” in Alex’s arms in the food line.

5 responses to “Creed’s Baptism

  1. Beautiful pictures! The baptism was wonderful, and very touching. I’ll admit, I made Curtis run to the bathroom for tissue!

    Congratulations!

  2. Thanks for sharing this with those of us wishing we could be there! May Creed indeed reflect the glory of our God and King.

  3. I didn’t know you made that gown….it’s beautiful! I wish we could have been there. Just reading Jon’s words brought tears to my eyes. Thank you for the pictures!

  4. If you record an account of the blessed event in, say, a babybook of some sort, don’t fail to include the start the congregation received when Jon sneezed into the microphone during the prayer. (That’ll wake you up in the morning!)

  5. That last picture of you and Jon is wonderful!!! Creed is so cute! Thank you for sharing about his baptist, I loved reading Jon’s words.

Leave a Reply

