Knox’s Balloons

First I need to tell you about us and balloons.  I do not like balloons in the house with young children because I don’t consider them a safe toy so whenever my kids would get balloons like at HEB or other places I would make them pop them and throw them away as soon as they started to deflate.  After several meltdowns over busted balloons, I devised a new tactic.  Either in the parking lot at our car or in the driveway once we got home, we’d let them go and watch them float away in the sky.  The kids thought that was a lot of fun and I became “fun mommy” again.

So Monday we set out to release balloons to celebrate Knox’s birth.  There is no denying how sad we were on this day and there was a resurgence of grief over not getting to celebrate WITH him.  I do love my 3 yr olds, but we had determined that his birthday is a day for celebrating his life so that is what we wanted to do.  We bought 3 balloons each in a different color for each member of our family so 24 in all.  It was a crazy windy day and we didn’t give much thought to particulars like how we were going to get them and our kids all in our van or how tangled up they would become.  Fortunately, reinforcements were handy for help with the transportation and we somehow got everyone and balloons to the park.  Because we had such trouble with them tangling, we let Jon’s, mine, and Creed’s loose as we got them separated.  The kids took turn doing this.  Then we gave them each of theirs.  They let them go one by one watching them float away until they each had one left.  Then they let those go together.  Lastly, I let baby blue ones go for Knox.  It was nice to do something “fun” on his birthday; something he would have been familiar with and enjoyed, but like Anne Michal said, “it was kind of like letting him go again.”  That was hard.







We started a new tradition this year.  It was way too windy to use plates and forks and napkins so we all just grabbed a fork and dug in.  WE decided this is the way we will eat birthday cake from now on.  The kids had a blast eating cake this way.



8 responses to “Knox’s Balloons

  1. The pictures of the kids with their balloons made me all weepy! So beautiful, especially the one of the five kids. Really beautiful!

    Then the pictures of you guys digging into the cake made me LAUGH! So funny!

    Thanks for sharing your special day!

  2. That is a beautiful new tradition. I agree with Kierstyn, the pic of the 5 kids brought tears to my eyes. I’m glad you shared pictures of the special time y’all had on his birthday, the cake was adorable!

  3. I know my words do not comfort you, but your story has made me treasure the time, good, bad and ugly, with my little ones. I pray for your family often. My seven yr old even includes Knox in her prayers. You are a great example of faith in God. Blessings.

  4. Love the cake tradition! Thank you for sharing your day with us! Praying for you!

  5. Thank you so much for sharing the pictures with teh balloons. I love them. So beautiful and wonderful.

    And the cake. Did you each eat in your own area? Cuz the germs from the forks would touch each other. LOL Seriously. – I love it. Fun!!!

  6. Your children are so beautiful. I love Lizzy’s long hair. What a precious tradition, and thanks for sharing it with us. Kurt said every time we sing “Ten Thousand Times Ten Thousand,” he thinks of y’all. “Where knitting severed friendships up where partings are no more. Then eyes with joy shall sparkle, that brimmed with tears of late…”
    Miss y’all.

  7. How beautiful! What a wonderful way to CELEBRATE the precious life that God gave you three years ago. I cried a lot last week thinking of Knox. Your poem put a lot of things into perspective for me, and made the promise of the resurrection seem even sweeter. Thank you for sharing your life with all of us, Rachel.

  8. Okay, so I am going to be behind on blog stuff until I get internet back in our house…sorry this comment is so late.
    I am glad you guys had such a good celebration. My heart feels like someone is squeezing it when I look at these pics. Beautiful day…great idea.

Leave a Reply

